T20 Global League 2017 Squads

T20 Global League - 2017 Squad Announcements

The squads for the T20 Global League for 2017 were announced on the 26th and 27th of August, with the competition to get underway in November 2017. All the team lists are provided for the Benoni Zalmi, Bloem City Blazers, Cape Town Knight Riders, Durban Qalanders, Jo'burg Giants, Nelson Mandela Bay Stars, Pretoria Mavericks, and Stellonbosch Monarchs.

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing

Several Hollywoodbets Dolphins stars were among the biggest sales at Sunday's inaugural T20 Global League player draft in Cape Town.

All-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo and wicketkeeper-batsman Dane Vilas were bought by the Jo'burg Giants and Pretoria Mavericks, respectively, for R1.3 million.

The big-hitting Robbie Frylinck, who is currently playing for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League, will join Dolphins team-mates Keshav Maharaj, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Khaya Zondo and Kyle Nipper at the Mavericks.

Frylinck and Maharaj were purchased for R1.1 million and R975,000, respectively. Van Jaarsveld cost R780,000, Zondo R455,000 and Nipper R130,000.

"It's really good to see a lot of Dolphins guys doing well at this draft. The chance to rub shoulders with marquee players like New Zealander Brendon McCullum and others will be amazing," Phehlukwayo, who will be accompanied by fellow Dolphins seamer Rabian Engelbrecht (R325,000), told Hollywoodbets.

"This is all pretty exciting, but I'm nervous, too. My development in the Twenty20 form of the game is going well - and the make-up and balance of the Jo'burg squad looks good."

The Bloem City Blazers, meanwhile, recruited veteran Dolphins wicketkeeper-batsman Morne van Wyk for R845,000.

The Durban Qalandars paid a hefty R1.8 million for Proteas and Titans all-rounder Chris Morris - and substantially smaller sums for Dolphins quartet Mthokozisi Shezi, Cody Chetty, Daryn Dupavillon and Prenelan Subrayen.

Spinner Subrayen proved the most costly of the four - R455,000; and seamers Dupavillon and Shezi cost R260,000 and R130,000, respectively. Chetty also fetched R130,000.

"For me and all these guys, in new competitions like this, the key is to keep calm. The opportunity is humbling and exciting - and playing among all sorts of international superstars is great. The calmest team will win on the day. As unpredictable as a new tournament with new players is going to be, it is going to be exciting no matter what," Morris told Hollywoodbets.

Dolphins all-rounders Sibonelo Makhanya (R390,000), Senuran Muthusamy (R325,000) and Calvin Savage (R260,000) were chosen by the Nelson Mandela Bay Stars, Cape Town Knight Riders and Benoni Zalmi, respectively.

The eight franchises had each welcomed an international marquee player earlier in the week, as England's Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy and Kevin Pietersen joined the Qalanders, Zalmi and Stars, respectively. West Indian trio Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard went to the Knight Riders, Mavericks and Blazers, respectively. The Giants cherished the arrival of McCullum - and the Stellenbosch Monarchs were left with Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

The eight-team competition will start in November 2017 and conclude on 16 December. Fixtures will be announced in late August.

T20 Global League 2017 Squads
(Click to enlarge)

T20 Global League 2017 Squads

Benoni Zalmi

Quinton de Kock, Jason Roy, Albie Morkel, Wahab Riaz, Umar Akmal, Lungi Ngidi, David Wiese, Eddie Leie, Pite van Biljon, Leus du Plooy, Dillon du Preez, Dean Elgar, Mohammad Nawaz, George Linde, Rivaldo Moonsamy, Calvin Savage, Carmi le Roux, Tshepo Moreki.

Bloem City Blazers

David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Dane Paterson, Chris Jordan, Dwayne Smith, Shaun von Berg, Aaron Phangiso, Morne van Wyk, Beuran Hendricks, Theunis de Bruyn, Janneman Malan, Ryan Ten Doeschate, Clyde Fortuin, Rayad Emrit, Werner Coetsee, Yaseen Vallie, Akhona Mnyaka, Keegan Petersen.

Cape Town Knight Riders

Dale Steyn, Chris Gayle, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, Rassie van der Dussen, James Vince, Dwaine Pretorius, Jason Smith, Rudi Second, Rory Kleinveldt, Malusi Siboto, Dinesh Ramdin, Thomas Kaber, Senuran Muthusamy, Dayyaan Galiem, Pieter Malan, Aviwe Mgijima.

Durban Qalanders

Hashim Amla, Eoin Morgan, Chris Morris, Sam Billings, Mitch McLenaghan, Bjorn Fortuin, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Junior Dala, Qaasim Adams, Migael Pretorius, Nicky van den Bergh, Prenalan Subrayen, Kelly Smuts, Marques Ackerman, Daryn Dupavillon, Mtokozisi Shezi, Cody Chetty.

Jo'burg Giants

Kagiso Rabada, Brendon McCullum, Colin Ingram, Vernon Philander, Andile Phehlukwayo, Christiaan Jonker, Temba Bavuma, Patrick Kruger, Yasir Shah, Nicolas Pooran, Duanne Olivier, Jonathan Vandiar, Roelof van dr Merwe, Andries Gous, Rabian Engelbrecht, Dane Piedt, Andre Malan, Zubayr Hamza.

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars

Imran Tahir, Kevin Pietersen, JJ Smuts, Aiden Markram, Anwar Ali, Heinrich Klaasen, Junaid Khan, Dawid Malan, Sisanda Magala, Heino Kuhn, Andrew Birch, Colin Ackermann, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Sibonelo Makhanya, Wihan Lubbe, Grant Thomson, Lesiba Ngoepe, Ryan Rickelton.

Pretoria Mavericks

AB de Villiers, Dwayne Bravo, Morne Morkel, Farhaan Behardien, Dane Vilas, Robbie Frylinck, Keshav Maharaj, Johan Botha, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Steven Finn, Reeza Hendricks, Diego Rosier, Khaya Zondo, Eldred Hawken, Basheeru Walters, Stephan Myburgh, Tony de Zorsi, Kyle Nipper.

Stellenbosch Monarchs

Faf du Plessis, Lasith Malinga, Alex Hales, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Imad Wasim, Henry Davids, Mangaliso Mosehle, Wiaan Mulder, Justin Ontong, Ryan McLaren, Brendan Taylor, Lizaad Williams, Jeevan Mendis, Rowan Richards, Craig Alexander, Grant Mokoena, Kyle Simmonds.

Outright betting for the T20 Global League will be available soon! Watch this space!

Written by Jonhenry Wilson for Hollywoodbets
Bet now on cricket
Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing

No comments:

Post a Comment

Give us your thoughts on our preview!