3 South Africans in IAAF World Athlete of the Year Award Shortlist

3 South African athletes are among the best in the world shortlisted for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year award.

Following South Africa's best ever medal haul at the IAAF World Championships, the tournament's conclusion saw three gold medalists nominated for the prestigious IAAF World Athlete of the Year Award.

Hollywoodbets-Sign-Up-Now-Banner-With-Link -To Account-Registration-Page

100m gold medalist - American - Justin Gatlin was left out of the shortlist following a rule change in 2015 that saw the IAAF governing body omit any athlete that has faced a serious doping offence.

Caster Semenya and Wayde Van Niekerk lead the nominations. Semenya defended her 800m gold while also taking home bronze in this year's 1500m race.

Wayde Van Niekerk rose to the occasion with his defence of the 400m race - and finished just shy of his double - when he ran one-hundredth of a second behind the winner of the 200m race to claim silver.

Also in the shortlist is Luvo Manyonga who claimed gold in the long jump event when he leapt to 8.48m.

Male Nominees
  1. Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT) high jump
  2. Pawel Fajdek (POL) hammer
  3. Mo Farah (GBR) 10 000m
  4. Sam Kendricks (USA) pole vault
  5. Elijah Manangoi (KEN) 1 500m
  6. Luvo Manyonga (RSA) long jump
  7. Omar McLeod (JAM) 110m hurdles
  8. Christian Taylor (USA) triple jump
  9. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) 400m
  10. Johannes Vetter (GER) javelin
Female Nominees
  1. Almaz Ayana (ETH) 10 000m
  2. Maria Lasitskene (RUS - competing as a neutral) high jump
  3. Hellen Obiri (KEN) 5 000m
  4. Sally Pearson (AUS) 100m hurdles
  5. Sandra Perkovic (CRO) discus
  6. Brittney Reese (USA) long jump 
  7. Caster Semenya (RSA) 800m
  8. Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE) pole vault
  9. Nafissatou Thiam (BEL) heptathlon
  10. Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) hammer

Writtern by Lungelo Mdladla for Hollywoodbets

Hollywoodbets-Sign-Up-Now-Banner-With-Link -To Account-Registration-Page

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing