Bledisloe 3: Australia vs New Zealand Preview

Rugby player gets tackled

Bledisloe 3 will mark the end of Stephen Moore's career and a possible fight back from the Wallabies as they host New Zealand on the 21st of October in Brisbane, Australia.

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Australia vs New Zealand
Venue: Brisbane
Kick-off: 11:00
Referee: Wayne Barnes

To Win Match
Australia 4/1 | Draw 28/1 | New Zealand 2/11


Australia 17/20 (+12.5) | New Zealand 19/20 (-12.5)

The All Blacks have already wrapped up the Bledisloe cup after they shut out the Wallabies twice in their most recent Rugby Championship fixtures that fell under the Bledisloe Cup.

The last time the Australians won against New Zealand was in Sydney back in 2015. Since then the latter has dominated world rugby ever since, as they seem stuck on the top of the world rugby podium.

New Zealand
Kane Hames, Dane Coles and Lualala form the front three - with Coles adding the ability to join the backline during set play moves and his ability to offload often gains more metres and carries.

Scotty Barrett will be the only Barrett brother to feature in this match as Beauden suffered a mild concussion during their one point win over the stern Springboks in Newlands. Liam Squire joins him to add support during the lineouts and captain Kieran Reid will be on hand to make the crucial lineout jumps - he made a 26 during the Rugby Champs.

Aaron Smith will feed the scrum and provide quick ball and kicks from the base, while Lima Sopoaga gets the nod over Bauden Barrett for reasons I stated above. Sopoaga makes his first Bledisloe Test start, while Ioane and Naholo are the blitz down the wings, with McKenzie at fullback making a complete attacking trio.

Crotty and Sonny Bill Williams will face Kurindrani and Beale which makes for some physical encounters.

Australia has only made one change in preparation for this Test with Rob Simmons in the starting line up. The Wallabies will play for pride in front of their home crowd as they have already lost the Bledisloe Cup- but nonetheless they will want to test themselves against a team they have yet to win against for 2 years.

Youngster Sean McMahon and Michael Hooper will provide solid defence as they've made 127 tackles between them. Foley will be in charge of the boot as he'll start at flyhalf - he's the leading Rugby Championship point scorer with 80. Will Genia will have to do his usual and disrupt his opposite number who's extremely skilfull. Beale will provide the off the mark pace as he jinks and dances trying to evade tackles. Joint top try scorer at the Rugby Championship - Izzy Folau will be the last line of defence an as per usual will have a crack at the defences.

This match will mark the retirement of Stephen Moore after a valiant and lengthy service to the Wallabies.

Starting XV's

Wallabies: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Scott Sio.
Subs: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Lukhan Tui, 20 Ned Hanigan, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Samu Kerevi, 23 Henry Speight.

New Zealand: 15-Damian McKenzie, 14-Waisake Naholo, 13-Ryan Crotty, 12-Sonny Bill Williams, 11-Rieko Ioane, 10-Lima Sopoaga, 9-Aaron Smith, 8-Kieran Read (captain) 7-Sam Cane, 6-Liam Squire, 5-Scott Barrett, 4-Sam Whitelock, 3-Nepo Laulala, 2-Dane Coles, 1-Kane Hames.
Subs: 16-Codie Taylor, 17-Wyatt Crockett, 18-Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19-Patrick Tuipulotu, 20-Matt Todd, 21-TJ Perenara, 22-Anton Lienert-Brown, 23-David Havili.

Verdict: New Zealand 19/20 (-12.5)
The All Blacks will retain their unbeaten record to claim their 15th Bledisloe Cup. They are simply too good, although, the hosts will offer them a challenge in Brisbane I feel it will be close but there will be no cigar.

Writtern by Lungelo Mdladla for Hollywoodbets

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing