Currie Cup: Sharks vs Western Province

The Sharks host Western Province on Saturday the 14th of October at Kings Park in Durban.

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Sharks v Western Province
Saturday 14th October, Durban
Time: 15:00
Referee: Jaco Peyper

To Win Match
Sharks 2/7 | Draw 25/1 | Western Province 5/2
Sharks 9/10 (-9.5) | Western Province 9/10 (+9.5) * Please note expected handicap

The Sharks lead the Currie cup log by 15 points while their opponents this weekend will need a bonus point win to make sure they can snatch a semi-final berth ahead of the Lions or the Cheetahs.

The Sharks will host a home semi-final next weekend no matter what the outcome is in tomorrow's clash. Win or lose, Robert du Preez's team have done enough to bring them closer to this year's Currie Cup title with a record of one loss from their 11 matches and conceding the fewest points in the competition with 198.

Western Province will have Springboks Dillyn Leyds and Wilco Louw on hand for their away fixture in Durban. Contracted Springboks Siya Kolisi, Eben  Eztebeth, and Pieter-Steph du Toit won't be available for the clash.

Province will have to take the game to the Sharks in search of the bonus point win, and Leyds, Senatla, and Willemse offer quite a dynamic attack with Huw Jones a good ball carrier in crash ball situations.

It will be a family affair as Coach Robert du Preez's sons will all feature in this fixture with Robert du Preez junior at fly-half for WP, whereas Jean-Luc will start on the bench and Daniel starting at 8th man for the Sharks.

Verdict: Sharks 2/7
The Sharks have only lost one match in this year's campaign, and the addition of Lukhanyo Am and the return of the Jean-Luc du Preez will give Sharks an extra edge. The KZN side's backline looks stronger on paper in one on one comparisons but the Western Province backline offers more creativity and speed. I think the Sharks are likely to win this one up front, with their forwards carrying them to victory.   

Sharks – 15 Garth April, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 S'bu Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (c), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Jean-Luc du Preez, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Tristan Blewett, 22 Kobus van Wyk.

Western Province – 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Ruhan Nel, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (c), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Subs: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Werner Kok, 22 EW Viljoen.

Writtern by Lungelo Mdladla for Hollywoodbets

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing