Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand

Rugby player gets tackled

South Africa meet New Zealand in their final Rugby Championship fixture on Saturday the 7th of October in Newlands, Cape Town.

To Win Match
SA 11/ 2 |  Draw 33/1 | New Zealand 1/9
South Africa 9/10 (+17.5) | New Zealand 9/10 (-17.5)

Bet now on the latest rugby event

South Africa vs New Zealand
Venue: Newlands
Kick-off: 17:05
Referee - Jerome Garces

New Zealand saw Argentina off 36 – 10 Estadio Velez Sarsfield to claim their sixth Rugby Championship title. And with their final clash in Newlands looming the pressure is off their shoulders.

They’ll certainly look to cap off the tournament having won all six of their encounters. Steve Hansen's men have run away with the title and are currently 11 points clear on the standings having scored 32 tries – another dominant display in their final match at Newlands will be first prize.

The hosts come into this one off the back of physically demanding encounter saw South Africa draw against Australia in what seemed like a battle of attrition at times. Ruan Dreyer, Jan Serfontein, and Courtnall Skosan all crossed the whitewash for the men in Green and Gold.

Malcolm Marx’s brutal display saw the Lions hooker breaking tackle after tackle. partnered with the use of Kolisi down the wing gave the Boks an edge. We saw a different animal in the Boks with their display of running rugby. Alister Coetzee has recalled Daniel du Preez, Wilco Louw, Raymond Rhule, and Sbu Nkosi.

Interesting Stats

  • Over the years The All Blacks have won six of the nine fixtures hosted by Newlands Stadium with the Springboks claiming three.
  • New Zealand have scored 18 tries more than South Africa in this edition of the Rugby Championship.
  • New Zealand has a 91.2 % lineout success 
  • South Africa has an 85 % scrum success
  • Kieran Reid has made the most lineout catches with 24 – Etzebeth is on 19
  • Andries Coetzee has completed the 3rd most offloads with 11
  • Beauden Barret has scored the most points with 67 – Jantjies is on 61
  • Siya Kolisi has made the 6th most amount of tackles with a total of 41
  • Out of all 48 matches played in South Africa, the Boks have won 25 with NZ winning 22.  

South Africa vs New Zealand - Newlands Results

2008 - South Africa 0 – 19 New Zealand
2005 - South Africa  22 – 16 New Zealand
2001 - South Africa 3 – 12 New Zealand
1996 - South Africa 18 – 29 New Zealand
1976 - South Africa 15 – 10 New Zealand
1970 - South Africa 8 – 9 New Zealand
1960 - South Africa 3 – 11 New Zealand 
1949 - South Africa 15 – 11 New Zealand
1928 - South Africa 5 – 13 New Zealand 

New Zealand Line up:

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames.
Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 David Havili.

South Africa Line up

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Francois Louw, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6, Siya Kolisi, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Mostert, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Verdict: New Zealand (-17.5) 9/10
New Zealand's trip to Newlands won't be easy and playing in front a packed Newlands stadium will give the Springboks a lot more heart. Following their 57 - 0 triumph over the Springboks, it's evident there's still lots more work to do for the Bok camp. The hosts won't lose by that same margin - a tough contest is ahead of us with the All Black closing in on an unbeaten finish to the tournamnet.

Writtern by Lungelo Mdladla for Hollywoodbets

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing