2018 Rugby Championship Fixtures Announced

Rugby player gets tackled

SANZAAR has released the 2018 Rugby Championship fixtures. The competition will move into its seventh year after the format was restructured to include Argentina.
Bet now on the latest rugby event

The competition comprises of four of the best Southern Hemisphere rugby playing nations. Each team plays in a series of home and away legs against their three Southern Hemisphere rivals, with the Bledisloe Cup falling into the same competition. New Zealand has won 30 out of 33 Rugby Championship matches, Australia 15 from 33, South Africa 14 from 33, and Argentina only 3 from their 33 matches played.

The All Blacks have dominated all facets of the tournament in the recent years. South Africa, Australia and Argentina will have to raise the bar in order to compete for the illustrious trophy.

The conclusion of the 2017 edition of the tournament heaped pressure on the entire the Springbok set-up after their third-place finish under Allister Coetzee, with the low point being that 57 - 0 record defeat against the Áll Blacks.

Steve Hansen and his troops won five of their matches to claim the title for the sixth time. Beauden Barret subsequently won the World Rugby Player of the Year, with Reiko Ioane claiming the Breakthrough Player of the Year.

Australia finished second and claimed the last Bledisloe Cup fixture against New Zealand. A team that the press had written off after their opening fixture, but they rallied back for a famous 23 - 18  victory in Brisbane.

Argentina didn’t win a single match in this year's campaign, as Daniel Hourcades men suffered six straight defeats, there is lots of work to be done ahead of next years gruelling schedule.

Pretoria, Durban, and Port Elizabeth will all host Springbok clashes. Durban will kick proceedings off with a game against Argentina on the 18th of August. The Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium will host the Wallabies on the 29th of September and lastly, Loftus Versfeld will play host to New Zealand on the 6th of October.

Springbok Castle Lager Rugby Championship Fixtures 2018 (kick-off times to be confirmed):

• 18 August: Springboks v Argentina – Kings Park, Durban
• 25 August: Argentina v Springboks – TBA
• 8 September: Australia v Springboks – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
• 15 September: New Zealand v Springboks – Westpac Stadium, Wellington
• 29 September: Springboks v Australia – Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
• 6 October: Springboks v New Zealand – Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Writtern by Lungelo Mdladla for Hollywoodbets

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing