Ronaldo Claims Fifth Ballon d'Or

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d'Or for the second year running, as he equalled Lionel Messi's feat as a five-time winner of the award.

Bet Now on Soccer

The Portugal international scooped the prestigious accolade after helping Real Madrid defend their UEFA Champions League crown last season, as well as lifting a first La Liga title since 2012.

Ronaldo scored 42 goals in 46 appearances across all competitions for Los Blancos in their double-winning campaign, with Barcelona talisman Messi finishing second and Paris Saint-Germain forward Neymar coming in third.
"This is something I look forward to every year," the Real star said at the ceremony in Paris on Thursday.
"Thanks to my Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level."
Ronaldo's first win came in 2008 with Manchester United, while Messi took home the honour for the first time the following year. No other player has won the coveted award since then.

© TEAMtalk Media

Bet Now on Soccer

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing