Hollywoodbets Sports Blog: McKenzie to Start at Fullback Against Bulls

McKenzie to Start at Fullback Against Bulls

Rugby player dives over the line to score a try.

The Chiefs are back in action this Friday when they face the Bulls and they have made four changes to their starting XV for the clash in Hamilton.

Date: Friday, March 16
Venue: FMG Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19:35 local (06:35 GMT)
Referee: Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Richard Kelly (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)

The home side have had a week to recoup with a bye last week, after they managed a gruelling 27-21 win over northern neighbours the Blues in Round three of Super Rugby.

Angus Ta’avao and Sean Wainui both start, having come in as confirmed injury replacements for Atu Moli and Tim Nanai-Williams for the rest of the season.

Wainui played a starring role in the win against the Blues, topped off with a great try, while Ta’avao made a good impact off the bench. Both players impressed throughout the pre-season, catching the eye of the coaches with their hard work and determination.

The other alterations sees Damian McKenzie shifting from fly-half to full-back while Tiaan Falcon will be the starting pivot after wearing the number 15 jersey against the Blues.

Exciting youngster Falcon is rewarded a start at fly-half after impressing the coaches in that thrilling 27-21 victory against the Blues when he was a late injury replacement for Shaun Stevenson.

There are three changes in the pack with Ta’avao replacing the injured Nepo Laulala at tighthead, Mitchell Brown coming in to partner Brodie Retallick and the impressive Lachlan Boshier moving into the loose forwards.

Boshier will start on the blindside flank which means Liam Messam shifts to number eight where he replaces Taleni Seu.

It is a special night for Bay of Plenty prop Jeff Thwaites who could make his Super Rugby debut off the bench.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Johnny Fa’auli, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Tiaan Falcon, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross
Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Declan O’Donnell

© TEAMtalk Media

Bet now on the latest rugby event

Register now and start betting on soccer, lucky numbers, and horse racing

YesWena 20:29 - Click Here - Win your share of R2 Million in Cash Prizes. Tune into ETV tn January 2018.