Scottsville Tsogo Sun Festival of Speed - Entries

Tsogo Sun Sprint - Horse Racing - Hollywoodbets

A massive entry of 106 sprinting thoroughbreds, including the first three past the post in the recent Grade 1 Computaform Sprint at Turffontein, have been entered for the country’s biggest and most prestigious meeting for speed horses that features four Grade 1 events over 1 200m. It will all happen at the Tsogo Sun Sprint Racemeeting at Scottsville Racecourse in Pietermaritzburg on Saturday, May 26, where R3,25-million in stakes will be up for grabs for the four races that form the official Jackpot at the meeting. Hollywoodbets has ante-post betting available now! Click here!

Sign Up Now with Hollywoodbets!

Headed by the R1-million Tsogo Sun Sprint, the programme includes the R750 000 South African Fillies Sprint for fillies and mares at weight-for-age and the two R750 000 juvenile events at level weights, the Tsogo Sun Gold Medallion which is open to all two-year-olds and the Allan Roberston Championship which is restricted to the young fillies.

In the Tsogo Sun Sprint three fillies are among 33 entries where the Joey Ramsden-trained Western Winter gelding Attenborough will likely top the early betting after his impressive victory in the Computaform Sprint where he came on late under Richard Fourie to win by a length at an easy-to-back price of 16-1. The runner up in that race, Pinnacle Peak from the Dorrie Sham stable and Attenborough’s stable mate Speedpoint that finished third are also among the entries along with In Full Flight Handicap winner Bold Respect, the unlucky and often slow away Trip To Heaven, and others such as Sir Frenchie, Naafer, Sunset Eyes, Myfunnyvalentine, Always In Charge, Black Cat Back and Bishops Bounty.

Myfunnyvalentine has also been entered for the SA Fillies Sprint along with Sommerlied, Live Life that finished third in the Grade 1 Cape Flying Championship as well as Neptune’s Rain and Made In Hollywood that filled the first two places in the Strelitzia Stakes. Green Plains won the Camelot beating Myfunnyvalentine and Magical Wonderland is one of the many three-year-olds in the entries that won the Sceptre Stakes at Kenilworth in January.

Trainer Dennis Drier, who has an outstanding record in the Tsogo Sun Gold Medallion, has nominated three horses for the juvenile race – Immortelle, Crown And Country and Goliath Heron – in a bid to continue his domination of the race but faces some top-performing juveniles like SA Nursery winner William The Silent and runners-up Cirillo and Chimichuri Run. Cue The Music, Van Halen and Traces, first three past the post in the Godolphin Barb, are also among the entries.

The Allan Robertson Championship is not to be outdone in terms of a quality entry with the 22 fillies including the SA Fillies Nursery winner Ronnie’s Candy and runner-up Ghaalla along with top Strelitzia Stakes performers Inverroche, Canukeepitsecret, Petra and Star Flyer.

The Tsogo Sun Sprint meeting is the biggest held in the KwaZulu-Natal Capital and with the best sprinters in the country in thundering action it is a meeting that must not be missed.

– Journalist Richard McMillan - Gold Circle

Tsogo Sun Festival of Speed

Saturday 26 May 2018

Tsogo Sun Sprint
Grade 1 - 1200 - R1 Million

Horse Odds Trainer MR
Always In Charge 16/1 Vaughan Marshall 109
Amazing Strike 25/1 Alec Laird 107
Attenborough 14/1 Joey Ramsden 114
Billy Silver 40/1 Dennis Bosch 97
Bishop's Bounty 33/1 Justin Snaith 117
Black Cat Back 20/1 Brett Crawford 103
Bold Respect 7/1 Brett Crawford 111
Captain's Causeway 20/1 Sean Tarry 108
Doosra 33/1 J A Janse van Vuuren 102
Down To Zero 33/1 M G Azzie/A A Azzie 98
Finchatton 40/1 Gokhan Terzi 100
Graduation Day 40/1 Joe Soma 101
Green Pepper 25/1 J A Janse van Vuuren 107
Hard To play 66/1 Wendy Whitehead 92
Kasimir 10/1 Justin Snaith 105
Live Life 25/1 Candice Bass-Robinson 115
London Call 14/1 Mark Dixon 117
Myfunnyvalentine 40/1 Sean Tarry 97
Naafer (AUS) 16/1 Mike de Kock 110
Our Mate Art (AUS) 40/1 Candice Bass-Robinson 109
Pinnacle Peak 8/1 Dorrie Sham 112
Pure Blonde 40/1 Alec Laird 104
Rocky Valley 25/1 Candice Dawson 107
Romi's Boy 25/1 Alec Laird 106
Sir Frenchie (AUS) 20/1 Justin Snaith 106
Speedpoint 16/1 Joey Ramsden 109
Sunset Eyes 14/1 Brett Crawford 102
Tandava (ZIM) 33/1 Gokhan Terzi 101
Tribal Fusion 40/1 Shane Humby 95
Trip To Heaven 8/1 Sean Tarry 114
Wonderwall 33/1 Sean Tarry 101
Wynkelder 40/1 Tony Rivalland 96
Zouaves 33/1 Geoff Woodruff 98

Betting is subject to change. E&OE.
Ante-post betting rules apply.

Bet Now on Horse Racing with Hollywoodbets!

South African Fillies Sprint
Grade 1 - 1200m - R750,000

Horse Odds Trainer MR
Anime 33/1 Dennis Drier 91
Call To Account 40/1 Joey Ramsden 96
Casual Diamond 25/1 Justin Snaith 102
Exquisite Touch 10/1 Sean Tarry 109
Gimme Six 16/1 Justin Snaith 106
Green Pepper 7/1 J A Janse van Vuuren 107
Green Plains 11/2 Sean Tarry 108
Hoist The Mast 40/1 Andre Nel 90
Jo's Bond 14/1 Justin Snaith 107
Live Life 12/1 Candice Bass-Robinson 115
Made In Hollywood 33/1 Joey Ramsden 97
Magical Wonderland 4/1 Candice Bass-Robinson 110
Myfunnyvalentine 25/1 Sean Tarry 97
Neptune's Rain 10/1 Duncan Howells 110
Princess Peach 40/1 Glen Kotzen 101
Rose In Bloom 16/1 Joey Ramsden 106
Sommerlied 12/1 Dennis Drier 108
Statute 16/1 Michael Roberts 98
The Secret Is Out 8/1 Vaughan Marshall 112
Too Phat To Fly 14/1 Glen Kotzen 105
Winter's Forge 33/1 Stanley Ferreira 96

Betting is subject to change. E&OE.
Ante-post betting rules apply.

Spar and Holly Top Up Voucher Promotion - Hollywoodbets - Win your share of R300,000 Cash

Gold Medallion
Grade 1 - 1200m - R750,000

Horse Odds Trainer MR
Affranchi 33/1 Tony Nassif 0
Chimichuri Run 8/1 Sean Tarry 0
Cirillo 9/2 Sean Tarry 0
Crown And Country 20/1 Dennis Drier 0
Cue The Music 7/2 Dennis Bosch 0
Di Me 40/1 Ivan Van Wyk 0
Eastbrook 40/1 Greg & Karen Anthony 0
Gentleman's Way 40/1 Kumaran Naidoo 0
Goliath Heron 20/1 Dennis Drier 0
Immortelle 16/1 Dennis Drier 0
In Cahoots 20/1 Sean Tarry 0
Opensea 25/1 Gavin van Zyl 0
Rule The Night 40/1 Tobie Spies 0
Sulka 20/1 J A Janse van Vuuren 0
Top Of The Class 16/1 Vaughan Marshall 0
Topmast 33/1 Dorrie Sham 0
Traces (AUS) 7/1 Brett Crawford 0
Twist Of Fate 7/1 Joey Ramsden 0
Van Halen 14/1 Tobie Spies 0
William The Silent 7/1 Robbie Sage 0

Betting is subject to change. E&OE.
Ante-post betting rules apply.

Bet Now on Horse Racing with Hollywoodbets!

Alan Robertson Championship
Grade 1 - 1200m - R750,000

Horse Odds Trainer MR
Arianos Shadow 12/1 Yogas Govender 0
Be Happy 33/1 Michael Roberts 0
Canukeepitsecret 16/1 Vaughan Marshall 0
Celtic Sea 4/1 Sean Tarry 0
Dagmar 8/1 Mike de Kock 0
Elle Va 33/1 Dean Kannemeyer 0
Ghaalla 7/2 Mike de Kock 0
I Like It 66/1 Stephen Moffatt 0
Inverroche 14/1 Mark Dixon 0
Mazari 50/1 Tobie Spies 0
Mighty High 12/1 J A Janse van Vuuren 0
Miss Calypso 20/1 Gavin van Zyl 0
Outlandos d'Amour 20/1 Dennis Drier 0
Petra 16/1 Robbie Hill 0
Purest Bliss 16/1 Glen Kotzen 0
Ronnie's Candy 9/2 St John Gray 0
Runaway Gal 25/1 Brett Crawford 0
Star Flyer 40/1 Tobie Spies 0
To Woo 50/1 Michael Roberts 0
Vivir 25/1 Ormond Ferraris 0
Western Angel 25/1 Candice Bass-Robinson 0
Wildly In Love 50/1 Duncan Howells 0

Betting is subject to change. E&OE.
Ante-post betting rules apply.

Register now and start betting with Hollywoodbets today!