Vodacom Durban July 2018 - Final Field

Vodacom Durban July 2018 - Final Field - Hollywoodbets

The final field for the 2018 Vodacom Durban July has been announced! The big race takes place at Greyville Racecourse on Saturday 7th July 2018. View the runners below, and get your bets on now at Hollywoodbets!

(Photo credit: Gold Circle)

- Won by DO IT AGAIN

Horse Racing Promotion - Win Your Share of R200,000 - Hollywoodbets

- Won by DO IT AGAIN

Please hold your phone horizontally (on it's side) to view the full details

Vodacom Durban July 2018
Grade 1 - 2200m - R4.25 Million
Greyville - Saturday 7th July 2018 - Race 7

No Dr Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
1 (4) Coral Fever 20/1 Muzi Yeni Robbie Sage
2 (6) Gold Standard 40/1 Craig Zackey Glen Kotzen
3 (2) Abashiri 10/1 Piere Strydom Mike Azzie/Adam Azzie
4 (10) African Night Sky 33/10 Grant van Niekerk Justin Snaith
5 (14) Elusive Silva 25/2 B Faydherbe Justin Snaith
6 (18) Liege 33/1 Raymond Danielson Sean Tarry
7 (9) Star Express 16/1 Aldo Domeyer Justin Snaith
8 (16) Do It Again 17/2 Anton Marcus Justin Snaith
9 (19) Majestic Mambo 10/1 Callan Murray Paul Peter
10 (15) Matador Man 16/1 S'manga Khumalo Sean Tarry
11 (8) Fiorella 25/1 Mark Khan Duncan Howells
12 (13) White River 10/1 Corne Orffer Brett Crawford
13 (20) Tilbury Fort 20/1 *Lyle Hewitson Sean Tarry
14 (7) Yakeen 25/1 Randall Simons Mike de Kock
15 (12) Made to Conquer17/2 Jeffrey Lloyd Justin Snaith
16 (5) Rocket Countdown 40/1 Stuart Randolph Candice Bass-Robinson
17 (3) Dark Moon Rising 20/1 Warren Kennedy Paul Lafferty
18 (11) Secret Potion 40/1 Marco van Rensburg Geoff Woodruff
19 (17) Pack Leader SP Reserve 1 Glen Kotzen
20 (1) Crowd Pleaser SP Reserve 2 J A Janse van Vuuren

Hollywoodbets will be offering the option of 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 fixed odds places.
Betting is subject to change. 
Betting correct as of 15:10 on Saturday 7th July 2018.

Bet Now on Horse Racing with Hollywoodbets!

Winning Form - Vodacom Durban July issue on sale Friday 29 June 2018 - Greyville

Top field for Vodacom Durban July

Journalist: Richard McMillan (Gold Circle)

One of the most competitive Vodacom Durban July fields for some years, that will go to battle over 2 200m at Greyville in Durban on July 7, was unveiled at the special function at Greyville yesterday.

While the winners of the L’Ormarins Queen’s Plate and the Sun Met – Legal Eagle and Oh Susanna – will not be in action as a matter of choice by their connections, the field to face the starter on the day contains many top performers in the country’s important races including the winner’s of the Premier’s Champion Challenge, the Sansui Summer Cup, the Cup Trial, World Sports Betting 1900, the Daisy Guineas and Daisy Fillies Guineas, the Jubilee Handicap, Lonsdale Stirrup Cup and South African Oaks.

In many cases the runners-up in those races will also be in action which will ensure a high-quality group of the country’s thoroughbreds and a race that could be a lot more open than the short price odds on offer on favourite African Night Sky might suggest.

As expected, Cape trainer Justin Snaith will have a busy day with five runners to saddle and his Highveld counterpart, Sean Tarry, will be kept busy preparing three runners for the race. But only one of the eight runners from the two stables, the Snaith-trained Silvano mare Star Express, has drawn a pen inside barrier 10 with stable companion and big race favourite, African Night Sky, filling the 10 berth.

The draws for the other Snaith runners are Elusive Silver (14), Do It Again (16) and Made To Conquer (12).

The Tarry runners did not fare well at all in the draw with Sansui Summer Cup winner Liege drawing at 18, Matador Man at 15 and Tilbury Fort at 20.

With second reserve runner Crowd Pleaser drawing on the rail, the former Highveld Triple Crown winner Abashiri from the Mike Azzie stable got the best draw at two and is likely to jump from the inside berth on the day with trainer Paul Lafferty drawing the number three berth for his Ideal World gelding, Dark Moon Rising.

There were no surprise exclusions from the field which basically fell in line with the betting on the race. Of the top 23 in the betting, the only runners excluded were Platinum Prince, 22-1, and Royal Crusade at 33-1.

With the announcement of the final field and the draws, the betting for the race could well change considerably, particularly when the names of the seven missing jockeys, including that for favourite African Night Sky, are announced.

The official and compulsory public gallops at Greyville for the Vodacom Durban July runners will take place from 7am on Thursday with horses still stabled out of the area having to complete a filmed and timed gallop in the area they are stabled which can be aired on Tellytrack on Thursday.

The gallops will be followed by a panel discussion on the gallops and views of the panelists on how they see the big race panning out on July 7.

Important Info for Vodacom Durban July Day

Learn more about the 2018 Theme here!

Poly Races: 1, 2, 8 & 9
Turf Races: 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12

Betting Menu:
1st Bipot:    Close at 12:10
PA:              Closes at 12:55
PA Blitz:     Closes at 15:10
Pick 6:         Close at 13:35
2nd Bipot:   Close at 16:20
1st Jackpot: Close at 14:25
2nd Jackpot: Close at 17:55

View the 2018 Vodacom Durban July horse profiles here:

No Horse No Horse
1 - Coral Fever 11 - Fiorella
2 - Gold Standard 12 - White River
3 - Abashiri 13 - Tilbury Fort
4 - African Night Sky 14 - Yakeen 
5 - Elusive Silva 15 - Made to Conquer
6 - Liege 16 - Rocket Countdown
7 - Star Express 17 - Dark Moon Rising
8 - Do It Again 18 - Secret Potion
9 - Majestic Mambo 19 - Pack Leader
10 - Matador Man 20 - Crowd Pleaser

Twitter - HollywoodbetsInstagram - HollywoodbetsFacebook - Hollywoodbets

Register now and start betting with Hollywoodbets today!