Hollywoodbets Dolphins Premier League presented by Aucor

The inaugural Hollywoodbets Dolphins Premier League presented by Aucor gets underway on Saturday 25th August 2018. This is a KZN based cricket competition, that sees teams made up of the best players from around KZN, including Hollywoodbets Dolphins players, taking each other on in an elite senior level competition. Learn everything you need to know about the tournament, as well as the Hollywoodbets owned team, the eThekwini Hurricanes!

Sign Up Now with Hollywoodbets!
Hollywoodbets Dolphins Premier League presented by Aucor

What is the Dolphins Premier League (DPL)?
The Dolphins Premier League is an elite senior level cricket competition, which brings the best players from around KZN to partake in an IPL format league.

Why was the DPL formed?
The DPL was formed by the KZN Cricket Union to bring new life to club cricket, and to give every cricketer in KZN a chance to prove themselves at the next level. It gives great exposure to those who are up and coming, as well as those who have been knocking on the door to get a contract with the KZN Cricket Union. Every team will see players from all levels in the same squad, where rookies and school boys are now sharing change rooms with Hollywoodbets Dolphins players. It brings players from around the province into the same team, and breaks down any barriers which may exist.

Has this type of league worked elsewhere?
Yes! Currently the LPL in Gauteng is a very successful league that has been going for the last 9 years!

What is the format of the game and league?
The format is T18, which will see each innings only 18 overs long. The reason behind this is that 3 games are to be played at one venue on each day. Therefore, you can expect even more explosive cricket action!

Every team will play each other once, with the top 4 teams going through to the play-offs, and then a final.

View the fixtures for this year's tournament by clicking here!

Which players are taking part in the DPL?
Players from Hollywoodbets Dolphins, KZN Inland & KZN Coastal amateur/semi-professional teams, club cricketers and the best school boys/rookies in the province.

How many teams are there in the tournament?
There are eight teams taking part in the tournament. They are all new teams that have been created for this tournament, and each are named after a place or reference involving KwaZulu-Natal. They are:
Click a team above to learn more about them!

How were the teams selected for this tournament?
All the Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Coastal, Inland and Club players were auctioned off at a recent gathering of the teams owners. Each team was given a set amount of funds to bid for players, with the highest bidder getting that player selected for their squad. The school boys and rookies were entered into a draft system, where each team went in turns to select one of three for their team.

How many players are there in each squad?
There are between 15 and 16 players for each squad, with two coaches. Each squad must be made up of a balance between Dolphins, Coastal, Inland, club players and rookies.

Who are the title sponsors of the league?
The title sponsors are Aucor Auctioneers. Their tagline is that they are Africa’s Auction Authority. They operate across a broad spectrum of industries, and have a foot print in South Africa, Botswana, Namibia and Lesotho. They are a very professional company, and a great sponsor to have as a part of KZN Cricket. They were brilliant in the auction process for this tournament.

When and where is the DPL taking place?
The DPL takes place over three weekends, with the first round of fixtures getting underway on the weekend of the 25th and 26th August 2018. There is no entrance fee, so come down and support! The venues and dates are as follows:

- 25th / 26th August – Kingsmead Oval, Chatsworth Oval
- 1st / 2nd September – Pietermaritzburg Oval, Varsity Oval (PMB)
- 8th August – Kingsmead Cricket Ground, Kingsmead Oval
- 9th August – Kingsmead Cricket Ground - Final and play-offs

View the fixtures for this year's tournament by clicking here!

What times will the games take place?
The times for each venue will be:

- 08h30 to 11h10 (no 08h30 match on 25th August)
- 11h30 to 14h10
- 14h30 to 17h10

Is Hollywoodbets sponsoring a team?
Yes! Hollywoodbets are the current owners of the eThekwini Hurricanes team.

Who are the players in the eThekwini Hurricanes?
The following players were selected for the eThekwini Hurricances team:

1. Andile Mogakane
2. Michael Alexander
3. Kyle Buckthorp
4. Blayde Capel
5. Keith Dudgeon
6. Khwezi Gumede
7. Neill Jordan
8. Robert Koenig
9. Michael Erlank
10. Grant Rolefsen
11. Nick Pentz
12. Tawanda Mawire
13. Joel Veeran
14. Nabeel Mahomed
15. Duncan Miller
16. Cody Gertze (Injured)
17. Waseem Rahman (Injured)

Who are the coaches for the eThekwini Hurricanes team?
James Pentz and Kenneth Mafunga are the coaches for the Hurricanes team. Pentz is currently the coach for the Premier League club team the Hollywoodbets Crusaders, and currently runs his own coaching academy. Mafunga is the current head coach of the KZN U15 and KZN U17 sides, and comes from a wealth of experience working with up and coming cricketers, as well as those in development sides.

Which Hollywoodbets Dolphins players are taking part in the DPL?
The following players who have represented the Hollywoodbets Dolphins are playing in the below teams:
  • eThekwini Hurricanes 
    • Keith Dudgeon
  • Durban Chiefs 
    • Keshav Maharaj, Morne van Wyk, Daryn Dupavillion, Kyle Nipper
  • Zulu Kings 
    • Mthokozisi Shezi, Prenelan Subrayen, Smangaliso Nhlebela, Jason Oakes
  • East Coast Wizards
    • Okuhle Cele
  • Drakensburg Thunder 
    • Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Eathan Bosch, Kerwin Mungroo
  • Pietermaritzburg Spurs 
    • SJ Erwee, Athi Maposa, Zakaria Paruk
  • Tugela Sharks
    • Robbie Frylinck, Cody Chetty, Lwandise Zuma
  • Umgeni Rhinos 
    • Marques Ackerman, Khalipa Cele 
Learn more on the Hollywoodbets Dolphins website: www.dolphinscricket.co.za

R100 FICA Bonus with Hollywoodbets - Jerry Sikhosana and Brian Baloyi
Twitter - HollywoodbetsInstagram - HollywoodbetsFacebook - Hollywoodbets