Modric named FIFA Player of the Year

Real Madrid’s Luka Modric was named the world's best player at the Best FIFA Football Awards.

The Croatian midfielder, 33, beat former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now of Juventus, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah to the award.

His win ends a decade of domination of football awards by Ronaldo and Barcelona’s Lionel Messi.

Modric picked up 29 percent of the votes, ahead of Ronaldo (19 percent), Mohamed Salah (11.2 percent), Kylian Mbappe (10 percent) and Messi (9 percent).

He was part of the Madrid team that won a third successive Champions League title in May and also helped Croatia to a first World Cup final in July.

"This award is not just mine. It is my teammates' from Real Madrid and Croatia. Without my coaches, I would not have won this and without my family I would not be the player I am today," said Modric.

France's World Cup winning coach Didier Deschamps was named best men's coach after his team beat Croatia 4-2 in the final.

Salah's Premier League strike against Everton at Anfield last December won the Puskas award for the best goal.

Winners of the FIFA Fan Award were Peru after thousands of Peru fans made the long trip to Russia for the World Cup after their nation qualified for the first time since 1982.

Brazil and Orlando Pride forward Marta won the best female player award.

  • FIFA Puskas Goal of the Year
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) vs Everton
  • Coach of the Year
  • Didier Deschamps (France)
  • Nominees: Didier Deschamps (France), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid) and Zlatko Dalic (Croatia)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year
  • Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium)
  • Nominees: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City/Denmark) and Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)
  • Best Women's Coach
  • Reynald Pedros (Lyon)
  • Nominees: Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands), Asako Takakura (Japan), Reynald Pedros (Lyon)
  • FIFA Fan Award
  • Peru fans
  • Nominees: Sebastian Carrera, Japan and Senegal fans, Peru fans
  • Fair Play Award
  • Lennart Thy

  • FIFA Fifpro World XI
  • David de Gea (Manchester United)
  • Dani Alves (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
  • Best Women's Award
  • Marta (Orlando Pride/Brazil)

© TEAMtalk Media

Twitter - HollywoodbetsInstagram - HollywoodbetsFacebook - Hollywoodbets

Bet Now on Soccer with Hollywoodbets!

Register now and start betting with Hollywoodbets today!