Durban Heat Ready to Heat up 031

Durban Heat Cricket Team 2018

The Durban Heat unveiled themselves to the media and the people of Durban in a truly Durban-styled launch at Moyo on the Pier on Friday morning.

Many of the players, administrators and prominent Durban faces were at the official launch; as Zulu dancers entertained the crowd. Three of the Durban-raised players answered questions ahead of the Mzansi Super League tournament starting for the Heat on 18 November.

"We were pretty nervous going into the draft but we are really happy with how our team came out in the end," CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said.

"Our vision was to get as many local players as we could and fill the other spots with match winners and with 13 international cricketers and eight Hollywoodbets Dolphins, we are excited for the tournament."

Coach Grant Morgan had many sleepless nights in the build up to the draft and he heaped praise on the his brains trust for picking the best possible squad in the end.

"Having Imraan (Khan) there helping was hugely important and we plotted and planned as many different outcomes as we could.

"To have him, the CEO and our convenor of selectors there helped hugely in us making all our decisions for the right reasons," Morgan commented.

The Heat welcome back Kyle Abbott to Durban after many years with the Dolphins and he is looking forward to contributing to the side.

"It's great to be involved in a tournament like this in your home country," the former Protea said.

"I've always loved playing cricket at Kingsmead and I cannot wait to get back there and play in front of the Durban faithful."

Durban Heat Fixtures:

18 Nov 11:00 Durban Heat v Cape Town Blitz Kingsmead, Durban
21 Nov 14:00 Durban Heat v Tshwane Spartans Kingsmead, Durban
23 Nov 19:00 Nelson Mandela Giants v Durban Heat St George's, Port Elizabeth
28 Nov 19:00 Durban Heat v Paarl Rocks Kingsmead, Durban
30 Nov 19:00 Jozi Stars v Durban Heat Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
02 Dec 11:00 Paarl Rocks v Durban Heat Eurolux Boland Park, Paarl
05 Dec 19:00 Durban Heat v Nelson Mandela Giants Kingsmead, Durban
07 Dec 14:00 Durban Heat v Jozi Stars Kingsmead, Durban
09 Dec 15:30 Cape Town Blitz v Durban Heat PPC Newlands, Cape Town
12 Dec 19:00 Tshwane Spartans v Durban Heat SuperSport Park, Centurion

Durban Heat Squad:

Hashim Amla, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Temba Bavuma, Morné van Wyk, Okuhle Cele, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako

Learn more at at

Hollywoodbets - Play with your Mobile Today - Sports Betting - Mobile Betting - Thumbs Up