Hollywoodbets Sports Blog: Bafana Bafana Squad Announced to Face Nigeria

Bafana Bafana Squad Announced to Face Nigeria

Soccer Players celebrate a goal

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his squad to take on Nigeria in a key Africa Cup of Nations qualifier this month.

Included on the 23-man list is the name of Thulani Serero, who has been called-up for the first time since he refused to report for national duty last year.

The Vitesse Arnhem attacker had been an unused substitute for Bafana on three occasions, having flown in from Europe, and felt he was wasting time that could have been better spent training with his Dutch club.

Baxter has also had to deal with a number of injury concerns, with Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Keagan Dolly, Sibusiso Vilakazi and Bradley Grobler all sidelined.

Speaking after announcing his team, Baxter told the press, as reported by KickOff: "It has really been a tough task to select the team to face Nigeria without some of our regular players, but we have to soldier on. These injuries could not have come at the worst of times when we really need to collect all three points because we are well aware the importance of doing this.

"The positive side, however, is that this gives us a chance to introduce other players into the squad, and these are players we have been monitoring, so it not like a knee-jerk reaction. This helps us to ensure that when we qualify for the tournament we have an even bigger pool of players to choose from. I am also confident that the players brought in will do a good job."

Bafana play Nigeria at Soccer City next Saturday, kick-off 3pm.

The full Bafana Squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), S'fiso Hlanti(Wits), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits) Thamsanqa Mkhize (CT City).

Midfielders: Vincent Pule (Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Hollywoodbets - Play with your Mobile Today - Sports Betting - Mobile Betting - Thumbs Up