South Africa Announce India Touring Squads

Quinton de Kock catches Neil Broom on day three of the first test between the New Zealand Black Caps and South Africa Proteas at Hawkins Basin Reserve in Wellington, New Zealand on Saturday, 18 March 2017
Quinton de Kock and Faf du Plessis

Cricket South Africa named three new caps in the Warriors duo of fast bowler Anrich Nortje and wicketkeeper/batsman Rudi Second as well as Hollywoodbets Dolphins spin bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy in the Proteas Test squad for the three-match Series against India in October.

Copyright Steve Haag Sport Hollywoodbets

There are also three newcomers in the squad for the three-match T20 International series in bizhub Highveld Lions duo of batsman Temba Bavuma and spin bowling all-rounder Bjorn Fortuin as well as Nortje.

Quinton de Kock will captain the T20 squad with Rassie van der Dussen as vice-captain while Temba Bavuma will be the vice-captain to Faf du Plessis in the Test match squad.

Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn and Lungi Ngidi were not considered for T20 selection as they will be continuing their preparation for the Test series by playing in South Africa A’s four-day matches against India A.

“All three newcomers to the Test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season’s Four-Day Franchise competition,” commented CSA Acting Director of Cricket, Corrie van Zyl.

“We feel we have covered all the options for the conditions we are likely to encounter on the sub-continent with Muthusamy and Dane Piedt, who was far and away the leading wicket-taker in our Four-Day competition, providing the back-up to Keshav Maharaj.

“Zubayr Hamza made an impressive start to his Test career against Pakistan last season when Faf du Plessis was ruled out and the retirement of Hashim Amla creates a further opportunity for him.

“The T20 Series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group. This is our last chance to do this before we settle on an established squad.

“I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket.

“As far as the T20 squad is concerned, Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury.

“This is very much a form squad with players being rewarded for their consistent performances at franchise level. This applies equally to Junior Dala and Jon-Jon Smuts,” concluded Van Zyl.

Proteas Test match squad:
  1. Faf du Plessis - capt
  2. Temba Bavuma - vice-capt
  3. Theunis de Bruyn
  4. Quinton de Kock
  5. Dean Elgar
  6. Zubayr Hamza
  7. Keshav Maharaj - Hollywoodbets Dolphins
  8. Aiden Markram
  9. Senuran Muthusamy - Hollywoodbets Dolphins
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Anrich Nortje
  12. Vernon Philander
  13. Dane Piedt
  14. Kagiso Rabada
  15. Rudi Second

Proteas T20I squad:
  1. Quinton de Kock - capt
  2. Rassie van der Dussen vice-capt
  3. Temba Bavuma
  4. Junior Dala
  5. Bjorn Fortuin
  6. Beuran Hendricks
  7. Reeza Hendricks
  8. David Miller - Hollywoodbets Dolphins
  9. Anrich Nortje
  10. Andile Phehlukwayo - Hollywoodbets Dolphins
  11. Dwaine Pretorius
  12. Kagiso Rabada
  13. Tabraiz Shamsi
  14. Jon-Jon Smuts

Info via Cricket South Africa

Hollywoodbets - Play with your Mobile Today - Sports Betting - Mobile Betting - Thumbs Up