Hollywoodbets Sports Blog: Spurs crowned DPL Champions

Spurs crowned DPL Champions

The second edition of the Hollywoodbets Dolphins Premier League, presented by Aucor, once again showcased the strength of the KZN cricket pipeline with strong individual performances by players from all eight teams and many closely contested matches throughout the three weekends. 

In the end the Gap Debt Solutions Pietermaritzburg Spurs were crowned deserved champions after managing to remain unbeaten throughout their campaign which culminated in a five wicket victory over the Mobicel East Coast Wizards in the final at Kingsmead on Sunday.

In the final the Wizards batted first and put together a competitive 166 for six in their 18 overs with contributions throughout.

Mishkal Ramsaroop scored 43 off 29 balls at the top of the innings while Richard Wissing made 32 and Sibonelo Makhanya and Jesse Smit both made 20.

The Spurs started their chase well and lost their first wicket with the total on 50, Thamsanqa Khumalo falling for 28 off 16 balls.

Johnny Riekert held the innings together with a measured 48 not out off 38 balls while Calvin Savage chimed in with a match-winning 48 off 20 balls.

Eventually the Spurs got over the line in the final over to win the second edition of the Dolphins Premier League.

Captain of the Spurs Calvin Savage and his side executed their game plan perfectly in what was a difficult chase.

"We knew that we had to have a good powerplay with the bat," Savage said. "We did that with Thamsanqa (Khumalo) and Johnny (Riekert) batting through and we got the required run-rate down to eight-and-half runs an over very quickly.

"The younger players really stood out for us and showed great confidence in themselves throughout the competition. As a senior core we wanted the younger guys to express themselves and be positive and not be too nervous and that's what they did and I think that was an important factor in our whole campaign."

It was a festival of cricket on the final's day on Sunday with the two semi-finals providing the dress rehearsals for the main event in the afternoon.

In the first semi-final it was the Wizards who dispatched the Aucor Durban Chiefs by seven wickets.

In the second semi-final the Spurs played the AFFA Holdings Tugela Sharks and won that game by six wickets.



Aucor Durban Chiefs v Mobicel East Coast Wizards
  1. Durban Chiefs 126/6
  2. East Coast Wizards 127/3
  1. Sboniso Mthembu 47 (29)
  2. Luke Schlemmer 57* (51)

East Coast Wizards won by seven wickets


Gap Debt Solutions Pietermaritzburg Spurs v AFFA Holdings Tugela Sharks
  • Tugela Sharks 110/9
  • Pietermaritzburg Spurs 112/4

  • Jason Wagener 38* (41)
  • Robert Frylinck 55* (40)

Pietermaritzburg Spurs won by six wickets


Gap Debt Solutions Pietermaritzburg Spurs v Mobicel East Coast Wizards
  • Wizards 166/6
  • Pietermaritzburg Spurs 167/5
  • Richard Wissing 32 (22)
  • Johnny Riekert 48* (38)
  • Calvin Savage 48 (20)

Pietermaritzburg Spurs won by five wickets

For more information visit www.dolphinscricket.co.za. 

Image: Siphiwe Gabayi/Dolphins Premier League

Hollywoodbets - Play with your Mobile Today - Sports Betting - Mobile Betting - Thumbs Up