Hollywoodbets Sports Blog: KZN cricket bags eight CSA Awards nominations

KZN cricket bags eight CSA Awards nominations

David Miller

Durban – The KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union has extended congratulations to the eight players that have been nominated for awards at the upcoming CSA Awards with Shabnim Ismail nominated in three categories while David Miller, Prenelan Subrayen, Grant Roelofsen and Keshav Maharaj have also all bagged nominations.

The Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal Women’s fast bowler Ismail has been nominated in the Momentum Proteas T20 International Player of the Year, SA Fans Player of the Year and the prestigious Momentum Proteas Players’ Player of the Year categories.

In the men’s awards category it was Proteas star David Miller who has the potential to be the big winner at the virtual ceremony taking place on 4 July. He has two nominations, firstly in the SA Fans Cricketer of the Year category and then in the important Players’ Player of the Year category.

Hollywoodbets Dolphins captain Keshav Maharaj has one nomination in the Momentum One Day Cup Player of the Year category along with his opening batsman and competition leading run scorer Grant Roelofsen.

Dolphins stalwart and off-spinner Prenelan Subrayen has been nominated in Four-Day Franchise Series Player of the Year category.

“After a strong season domestically and solid performances from our international players it’s great to see them being acknowledged for national awards,” CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said. “To have two players in Shabnim (Ismail) and Dave (Miller) being nominated in the Players’ Player of the Year category is a testament to their importance in their respective national teams.

“We had a great white ball campaign and to have two nominations is also a great achievement. Prenelan (Subrayen) was fantastic in our revival in red ball cricket at the start of the year.

“I wish all the nominees all the best of luck for the awards evening,” Strydom added.

Recently recruited Hollywoodbets Dolphins player Ruan de Swart is also up for an award. The young all-rounder has been nominated in the CSA Provincial One Day Cricketer of the Year category.

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile