Connect with us


Reasons for South African cricket fans to watch BBL 10

Reasons for South African cricket fans to watch BBL 10

There aren’t any Proteas eligible players turning out in the Big Bash League this season, other than veteran Imran Tahir, but there are still plenty of reasons for viewers from South Africa to tune in.

Two women looking excitedly at cellphone 

First of all the Big Bash League is played at a consistently high standard and enjoys innovative television coverage.

AB de Villiers had been set for another spell in the tournament, but he pulled out ahead of the event citing a desire to spend time with family.

Former Proteas Colin Ingram, Morne Morkel and Rilee Rossouw will be turning out Downunder as will former Proteas spinner and naturalised Australian Johan Botha. 

Organisers of the BBL have introduced three new strategic elements designed to switch up the game and drive interest across the 40 overs of a typical match.

The batting side will be able to implement a ‘Power Surge’, a two-over period where the fielding side is only permitted two fielders outside the circle. The batting team can call for this at any time after the 11th over.

Teams will also have an ‘X-factor player’ at their disposal, this feature allows a team to bring in a substitute for any player who has yet to bat or bowled one over or less by the 10th over of the first innings.

During BBL 10 chasing teams will be awarded a Bash Boost bonus point if they are ahead of where their opponents were at the comparative stage after ten overs. If the chasing team are behind the defending team will claim that point, meaning that a side can take a maximum of three points from a match.

Each team in the BBL face each other twice during the preliminary phase of the competition with the top five teams advancing to the playoff phase. After the round-robin stage, the fifth-placed side will face fourth for the right to advance to a Knockout match against third-place. 

The teams finishing first and second will face off for the first place in the final while the loser of that game will take on the winner of the knockout to determine the second finalist.

Written by James Richardson.

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile

More in Cricket

Official Partners