Connect with us

International Rugby

NEWS: Mo’unga to start at flyhalf as All Blacks name side for Ellis Park Test

Richie Mo’unga will start at flyhalf for the All Blacks in Saturday’s Rugby Championship rematch with the Springboks at Ellis Park.

Richie Mo'unga of the All Blacks
Image Copyright - Steve Haag Sports

Richie Mo'unga will start at flyhalf for the All Blacks in Saturday's Rugby Championship rematch with the Springboks at Ellis Park.

Two women looking excitedly at cellphone

Beauden Barrett has made way for the Crusaders No 10, dropping down to the bench in one of four changes for a New Zealand side desperate to bounce back from a string of poor results.

Elsewhere in the backline, both Will Jordan and Jordie Barrett have recovered to take their place in the starting line-up.

Barrett was forced off with an ankle injury in the second half of last Saturday’s clash but will once again wear the No 15 jersey. Jordan battled a suspected stomach bug in the week but has also recovered and will once again pose considerable danger on the wing.

There are also three changes amongst the forwards, where the All Blacks got thoroughly outplayed last weekend.

Tyrel Lomax, Shannon Frizell and Ethan de Groot all come into the starting line-up, with Angus Ta’avao, Akira Ioane and George Bower making way, the latter two dropping down to the bench.

Other changes on the bench see Codie Taylor coming in for Dane Coles and Fletcher Newell taking the reserve position ahead of Ta’avao.

For coach Ian Foster, another defeat on Saturday could signal the end of his time in charge.

“Belief and confidence remain high in our group, which is working incredibly hard this week,” Foster said.

“Playing at Ellis Park is always a special occasion for any All Black team, and this weekend will be no different.

“Adding to that, the Freedom Cup is on the line which makes this a challenge that everyone is looking forward to.”

New Zealand: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Ethan de Groot

Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 George Bower, 18 Fletcher Newell, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Quinn Tupaea

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile

More in International Rugby