Connect with us


All 16 PSL Teams Listed from Newest to Oldest


Can you name the oldest team in the PSL? We’ve listed them for you from the newest to the oldest. Find out when your team came into existence.

Photo Copyright – Steve Haag Sports

Cape Town City – 2016
After a fallout with his brother in law Ari Efstathiou with whom he partly owned Ajax Cape Town, John Comitis bought the PSL status of the now defunct Mpumalanga Black Aces and formed Cape Town City.

Stellenbosch – 2016
In 2016 Vasco da Gama which was founded in 1980 was dissolved and owner Mario Ferreira used its certificate to create a new club and relocated to Stellenbosch, Western Cape. Stellies gained promotion to PSL in 2019.

Polokwane City – 2012
Polokwane City came into existence in 2012 after Johnny Mogaladi bought Bay United’s franchise and created a new club. Rise And Shine were promoted to the elite league in 2013.

Chippa United – 2010
Siviwe “Chippa” Mpengesi purchased a club called Mbekweni Cosmos in the Vodacom League in January 2010 and renamed it. They were promoted to the third tier in their first season and to the second tier the next. In their third season they finished second and gained promotion to the PSL via play offs. The Chilli Boys were relegated to the second tier (National First Division now known as GladAfrica Championship) in their debut season and they regained promotion the following season which was the 2013/14 campaign.

Maritzburg United – 2005
Maritzburg United had participated in defunct South African soccer divisions before, but the current team came into existence when they bought Tembisa Classic’s status in 2005. They were relegated in 2007 and they spent one season in the NFD before bouncing back up and ever since they have been a PSL team.

Baroka – 2007
The club was formed in 2007 by Khurishi Mphahlele in Ga-Mphahlele near Polokwane with the aim of minimizing crime through keeping kids busy. They have since grown in leaps and bounds, rising to prominence in 2011 when they reached the Nedbank Cup finals while they were still in the third tier, beating team like Kaizer Chiefs and Moroka Swallows along the way. They worked their way to the PSL and eventually gained promotion in 2016. They won their first major trophy in December 2018 when they beat Orlando Pirates in the Telkom Knockout final.

Highlands Park – 2003
This was established as the phoenix club of the original one (founded in 1969) which was sold to Jomo Sono who renamed it Jomo Cosmos in 1983. The Lions of the North climbed from the fourth tier to top-flight football over the years and they have been relegated to the NFD once and they spent one season there before regaining promotion in 2019.

Lamontville Golden Arrows – 1996
Arrows was formed in 1996 when the Madlala family bought Ntokozo FD’s franchise. They brought back the name of the old Lamontville club which was founded in 1943 and got relegated 1976. The current Arrows was relegated to the NFD in the 2013/14 season and returned to the PSL the following year.

SuperSport United – 1994
The Cup Kings of the PSL were originally known as Pretoria City before being purchased by M-Net in 1994 and renamed. They have since won three league titles and a lot of knockout trophies.

Black Leopards – 1983
Lidoda Duvha was founded by business people in Vhembe Region and was taken over by David Thidiela in 1998. They gained PSL promotion in 2001 before being relegated back to the NFD in 2008 where they spent three years before climbing back up to the elite league. They were relegated again in 2013 and only made a return to top-flight football in 2018.

Kaizer Chiefs – 1970
The club was founded in 1970 shortly after the return of Orlando Pirates legend Kaizer Motaung from New York where he played for Atlanta Chiefs. Amakhosi went on to win the most knockout trophies in the country making them one of the most successful teams this country has ever seen.

Mamelodi Sundowns – 1970
The nine-time PSL champions originated in Marabastad back in 1970 and they have been owned by various business people which includes the late Zola Mahobe, Abe Krok and Natasha Natasha Tsichlas and the current owner Patrice Motsepe. The Brazilians won their first and to date their only CAF Champions League in 2016.

Bloemfontein Celtic – 1969
Phunya Sele Sele was founded by Norman Mathobisa and Victor Mahatane in 1969. In November 2001, after the relegation of Phunya Sele Sele, Molemela sold his shares in the club to Demetri “Jimmy” Augousti, a former Celtic player who would own it until 2014 before selling it to current owner Max Tshabalala. Celtic’s current PSL stint started in 2004 when they regained promotion.

Orlando Pirates – 1937
Currently owned by the PSL Chairman Dr Irvin Khoza, the mighty Buccaneers came into existence in 1937 when offspring of migrant workers and boys from Orlando came together to play the beautiful game. Among other achievements, in 1995 they became the first South African team to win the CAF Champions League, in 1973 they won every trophy on offer – a feat they’d repeat in 2011 along winning an unprecedented and yet to be matched double treble between 2010 and 2012.

AmaZulu – 1932
AmaZulu were founded in 1932 and originally named Zulu Royal Conquerors and they have used the name Zulu Royals as well. Since the inception of the PSL in 1996, Usuthu have been relegated to the NFD four times.

Bidvest Wits – 1921 
The club was formed by University of Witwatersrand Students Representative Council in 1921. They competed in various leagues and tournaments before winning promotion to the elite league in 1975. Wits won their first and to date their only PSL title in the 2016/17 season under the tutelage of Gavin Hunt. They have also won a couple of knockout trophies.

Written by Benedict Ngwenya for Hollywoodbets. 

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile

More in PSL

Official Partners