Connect with us


Stuart Baxter Names 25-Man Bafana Bafana Squad for World Cup Qualifiers


The South African national team are currently second on Group D standings and this is a make or break period. Do these players have what it takes to secure 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification?

Bafana Bafana face off against Cape Verde both at home and away over the next few weeks and coach, Stuart Baxter has named his 25-man squad to get the job done in both legs. South Africa are tied on four points with top-placed Burkina Faso with no room for slip-ups as the business end of the qualifiers approaches. These are the players that have been selected to represent the nation.

Bet Now on Soccer

Itumeleng Khune, Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams

Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Eric Mathoho, Thulani Hlatshwayo (c), Sifiso Hlanti, Rivaldo Coetzee, Morgan Gould, Abbubaker Mobara, Tebogo Langerman.

Hlompho Kekana, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly, Andile Jali, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Thulani Serero.

Daylon Klaasen, Percy Tau, Lebogang Manyama, Tokelo Rantie, Bradley Grobler , Kermit Erasmus.

The first leg is on 1 September in Cape Verde and the return leg will take place on 5 September at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban. Bafana Bafana will then go head to head with Burkina Faso on Saturday, 7 October at home before finishing off their campaign against Senegal on the road.

The big question is, will we qualify for Russia 2018?

20170816 Blog Writers Benedict Ngwenya 7

Bet Now on Soccer

Register now and start betting on Durban July Horse Racing

More in Soccer

Official Partners