Connect with us


Top 5 Finals Hosted at Moses Mabhida Stadium

Top 5 Finals Hosted at Moses Mabhida Stadium

In the wake of the PSL’s announcement that the 2019 Telkom Knockout final will be held at Moses Mabhida Stadium on the 14th of December, we revisit the top five cup finals which took place at  Durban’s iconic venue.

Photo Copyright – Steve Haag Sports 

5. Orlando Pirates 0-1 Kaizer Chiefs – 2014 MTN8 Final
It was a Brilliant Khuzwayo show as he returned to his hometown with the mighty Amakhosi to win the coveted trophy accompanied by an R8 million prize money. Khuzwayo used to play second fiddle to Itumeleng Khune who was injured on the night but he produced a man-of-the-match performance, keeping the Buccaneers at bay and Tefu Mashamaite’s 28th minute header was enough to see the Phefeni Glamour Boys triumph.

4. TS Galaxy 1-0 Kaizer Chiefs – 2019 Nedbank Cup Final
Dan “Dance” Malesela did the unthinkable on 18 May 2019 when they became the very first second tier side to win the Nedbank Cup. Having eliminated Golden Arrows in the semifinals courtesy of a Zakhele Lepasa brace, the NFD side weren’t to be underestimated in the ultimate game of the competition. As per usual, Malesela brought on his super sub in the dying minutes of the final with the scoreline tied at 0-0 and he won a penalty that he would go on to convert to hand his side a 1-0 victory in front of a fully-packed, mesmerised and bemused Moses Mabhida Stadium.

3. Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 Kaizer Chiefs – 2015 Telkom Knockout Final 
Steve Komphela lost his second successive final with Chiefs against a rejuvenated Sundowns side that would go on to win the league title and the CAF Champions League as well. The scoreline suggests the Brazilians had a walk in the park but Komphela’s men shot themselves in the foot by missing two penalties and only scored one goal through Camaldine Abraw who headed home in injury time. This Sundowns side will be remembered as one on the greatest ever boasting high-class midfielders like Bongani Zungu, Hlompho Kekana and Themba Zwane as well as the terrifying front three nicknamed “CBD” which stands for Castro (Leonardo), Billiat (Khama) & Dolly (Keagan). I call this one the “Day of Reconciliation Massacre” because it took place on the 16th of December.

2. Bidvest Wits 1-3 Orlando Pirates – 2011 Telkom Knockout Final 
This was one of Orlando Pirates’ hardest cup final in their double treble winning spell between 2010 and 2012 but for neutrals it was an exciting spectacle with two great teams having a go at each other. The game was characterised by tempers as Benni McCarthy who was Pirates’ striker at the time had a heated exchange with the Wits technical team including coach Roger De Sa and his assistant Eric Tinkler. To show how good the Clever Boys were, Pirates signed Patrick Phungwayo, Lehlogonolo Masilela and Sifiso Myeni from them the following season.

1. SuperSport United 4-1 Orlando Pirates – 2017 Nedbank Cup Final
The SuperSport United side teaming with the likes of Bradley Grobler, Jeremy Brockie, Thuso Phala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane to mention a few wiped the floor with Orlando Pirates on the final day of the 2016.17 season. The same team had annihilated the mighty Buccaneers 6-1 in the league and 3-2 in the very same competition final the previous year which gave this particular final a “grudge match” tag but no vengeance occurred which put the final nail in coach Kjell Jonevret’s coffin and crowned coach Stuart Baxter’s last game for SuperSport before heading for the Bafana Bafana head coaching position with silverware.

Written by Benedict Ngwenya for Hollywoodbets. 

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile

More in Soccer

Official Partners