F1 2020: Schedule, Teams and Rule Changes


The 2020 F1 season is fast approaching its opening round. Darry Worthington takes a look at the team line-ups and the rule changes for this season. 

Image Copyright - Steve Haag Sport

2020 Schedule

There have been three major changes to the schedule with the German Grand Prix dropping off the circuit due to financial constraints. While purest will be bitterly disappointed to see a calendar with no stops at Hockenheim or Nurmeburg on it, their anger may be offset somewhat by the return of the Dutch Grand Prix and a redeveloped Zandvoort circuit.

The FIA will also venture int new territory this year having awarded an F1 race to Vietnam. This will one of the biggest sporting events the country has ever held. It also offers F1 enthusiasts on a limited budget a great chance to see a race in real life as the Vietnamese capital of Hanoi is very easy on the pocket.

Australian Grand Prix
Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit
Sunday 15 March

Bahrain Grand Prix
Bahrain International Circuit
Sunday 22 March

Vietnamese Grand Prix
Hanoi Street Circuit
Sunday 5 April

Chinese Grand Prix
Shanghai International Circuit
Sunday 19 April

Dutch Grand Prix
Circuit Park Zandvoort
Sunday 3 May

Spanish Grand Prix
Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Sunday 10 May

Monaco Grand Prix
Circuit de Monaco
Sunday 24 May

Azerbaijan Grand Prix
Baku City Circuit
Sunday 7 June

Canadian Grand Prix
Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
Sunday 14 June

French Grand Prix
Circuit Paul Rickard
Sunday 28 June

Austrian Grand Prix
Red Bull Ring
Sunday 5 July

British Grand Prix
Silverstone
Sunday 19 July

Hungarian Grand Prix
Hungaroring
Sunday 2 August

Belgian Grand Prix
Spa-Francorchamps
Sunday 30 August

Italian Grand Prix
Autodromo National Monza
Sunday 6 September

Singapore Grand Prix
Marina Bay Street Circuit
Sunday 20 September

Russian Grand Prix
Sochi Autodrom
Sunday 27 September

United States Grand Prix
Circuit of the Americas
Sunday 25 October

Mexican Grand Prix
Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
Sunday 1 November

Brazillian Grand Prix
Autodromo Carlos Pace
Sunday 15 November

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Yas Marina Circuit
Sunday 25 November

Rule Changes

Return to the Chequered Flag
After last year's balls-up at the Japanese Grand Prix, where the lighting panel that signalled the end of the race went off a lap too soon, the FIA has opted to return to using the chequered flag to show the end of a race.

Goodbye to Mid-Season Testing
This year will see the end of mid-season testing. It's not a bad shout as a lot of penalties have been dished out following design and engine tweaks that came about after mid-season testing stints.

Fins Up
No, Steven Speilberg hasn't branched out into designing F1 cars but we will see a lot of shark fins on the circuit this year with the implementation of a fin near the rear-end of the car where the engine is housed. This has come about so as to make it easier for fans to distinguish between different drivers as drivers numbers will be placed on the fin.

Metal Missing
Cars will now contain less metal on their front wings with the hope being that this will prevent rear-wheel punctures when a car collides into another from behind.

Drivers In Control Off the Line
Fewer electronics will be involved at the start of the Grand Prix with Drivers now controlling 90% of the car's torque with the clutch pedal.

Written by Darry Worthington for Hollywoodbets

Register Now with Hollywoodbets Mobile