What is ante-post betting? What does ante-post mean? What happens to my ante-post bet if my horse doesn’t take part in the race? Learn everything you need to know about Ante-Post betting rules below. You can bet Ante-Post on big races such as the Vodacom Durban July, Sun Met, Summer Cup and more with Hollywoodbets.
Here is the explanation of Ante-Post Betting as per Hollywoodbets terms and conditions:
3.1.1 An ante-post bet is a bet on a medium to long term feature race or event.
In the case of weather or outside influences that cause an event to be postponed or rescheduled to another day, then all ante-post bets shall stand.
Ante-post bets may include runners that do not ultimately participate in the race or event and bets wagered on such will be considered losers. These races/events may be referred to as “all-in” events.
No deduction shall be taken on scratching from ante-post all-in races or events.
A multiple bet that includes an ante-post leg will be a losing bet in the event the ante-post selection does not participate or run.
An ante-post bet will be void where the race on which the ante-post bet has been placed is officially abandoned, the conditions of the race altered or if the venue of the race has been changed. In these circumstances any multiple bet, which includes this selection, will be paid out on the remaining selections.
Why take an ante-post bet?
An ante-post bet can offer good value on certain horses, as the prices are normally quite high on the runners. This is because there are a large number of horses that might not make the final field.
When can I take an ante-post bet?
Hollywoodbets offers ante-post betting on big races taking place locally as well as internationally in the medium to long term future, such as the Vodacom Durban July, Sun Met or Summer Cup, Arc de Triomphe, etc. They are normally on offer a few months before the date of the race.
Is ante-post betting on the final field?
No. Ante-post betting is done on races where the final field has not been declared as yet.
What happens if the horse I placed an ante-post bet on has made the final field, but is then subsequently scratched? Do I get my money back?
No, your bet will be a losing bet according to ante-post betting rules.
Is my bet subject to a deduction if a horse is scratched, or is ruled out of taking part in the race?
Whether a horse is declared not running in the final field, or is scratched from the race closer to the start, there are no deductions applied to ante-post horse racing bets.
Are ante-post bets still subject to 6% horse racing tax?